A Review: Unsuccessful Thug by Mike Epps

MIKEeppsUNSUCCESSFUL THUG: One Comedian’s Journey From Naptown to Tinsletown, Mike Epps. Harper, $26.99 (288p) ISBN: 9780062684899

Publication date: March 27, 2018

For fans of Charlamagne Tha God’s Black Privilege, Kevin Hart’s I Can’t Make This Up, and Tiffany Haddish’s, The Last Black Unicorn, comes the must-read memoir from Mike Epps, Unsuccessful Thug. In addition to learning there will be a Meet Read the rest

Trevor Noah’s “Born a Crime” to Become A Movie, Lupita Nyong’o to Star!

trevorlupita

The Daily Show host, comedian, and author Trevor Noah‘s blockbuster autobiography, Born a Crime: Stories from an African Childhood, is becoming a film. Noah will co-produce his biopic through his production company, along with Norman Aladjem of Mainstay Entertainment, Derek Van Pelt, Sanaz Yamin and actress, Lupita Nyong’o. Nyong’o will portray Noah’s mother and hero, Patricia.

Born a Crime was published in November 2016 by Spiegel & GrauRead the rest

Joseph Jackson, Patriarch of the Jackson Family, To Release Memoir!

JOEJACKSON

Joseph Jackson, the patriarch of the Jackson family, is releasing his debut book, Precious Moments on March 8th. The coffee table memoir will include a collection of Jackson’s favorite quotes from lyrics, film, and television. Jackson, 90, has been in the music industry as a talent manager for over 60 years. Precious Moments is published by self-publishing company, BookBaby.

Precious Moments is not the first coffee table title … Read the rest

Interview With S&S Digital Marketing Manager & Angela Yee Book Club Partner Tasha Hilton!

tasha.png

Yesterday we had the pleasure of speaking with Tasha Hilton, the Digital Marketing Manager at Atria Books, about her career in publishing and her role in the Angela Yee Book Club: Kickin’ it From the Stoop. She originally worked as a digital marketer in the entertainment industry before deciding she wanted to expand her horizons, leading her to pursue publishing and join Simon and Schuster in June … Read the rest

Interview With Senior Editor at Simon and Schuster, Christine Pride!

Christine2Like many publishing professionals, Christine Pride, a senior editor at Simon and Schuster, did not know there were opportunities for bookmaking, i.e, publishing. Pride earned her Bachelor’s in Broadcast Journalism at the University of Missouri-Columbia and then worked at a non-profit organization catering to disadvantaged mothers.

It was during her four-year tenure at the organization as a Public Relations Associate and Director of Development and PR that she connected … Read the rest