Review: GuRu by RuPaul

guru_hc

 

GURU, RuPaul. Dey Street Books, $25.99 (208p) ISBN: 9780062862990
Publication date: October 23, 2018

If there is anything RuPaul is more passionate about than being unapologetically fierce, it is probably helping others tap into their fierceness—unapologetically, of course. Now, let’s take it further. It’s great to be fierce and fabulous, but how do you treat others? How do you treat yourself? In his new book, GuRu, RuPaul … Read the rest “Review: GuRu by RuPaul”

Interview With Ben Philippe, Author of “The Field Guide to the North American Teenager”!

ben 2If you are passionate about writing and want to pursue it professionally, you might want to keep certain skills off your resume. Ben Phillippe, author of the forthcoming debut novel, The Field Guide to The North American Teenager (Balzer + Bray, January 9, 2019) is one of many who had jobs that he disliked, but when he removed Microsoft Excel from his resume, he yielded opportunities that … Read the rest “Interview With Ben Philippe, Author of “The Field Guide to the North American Teenager”!”

Interview With Alessandra Balzer, Co-Publisher of Balzer + Bray!

alessandra balzer

When Alessandra Balzer was fresh out of Colgate University, where she majored in French Literature and minored in English, she took her first job at HarperCollins as an editorial assistant. Years later she would become co-publisher of her own imprint at the same company. Balzer and Donna Bray, a fellow HarperCollins colleague, were both experienced and eager to become entrepreneurs. In 2008, they launched Balzer + Bray. 

Dumplin’ by … Read the rest “Interview With Alessandra Balzer, Co-Publisher of Balzer + Bray!”

Interview With Carrie Thornton, Editorial Director of Dey Street Books!

carriethorntonEven before amassing a 20-year career in book publishing, Carrie Thornton, editorial director at Dey Street Books (HarperCollins) had a fondness for editing. The English Language and Literature graduate was a literary magazine, newspaper, and peer editor at school. “I realized I was probably a better editor than writer,” Thornton says. A part of her job, she tells So Booking Cool, is paying attention to what is going … Read the rest “Interview With Carrie Thornton, Editorial Director of Dey Street Books!”

A Review: Unsuccessful Thug by Mike Epps

MIKEeppsUNSUCCESSFUL THUG: One Comedian’s Journey From Naptown to Tinsletown, Mike Epps. Harper, $26.99 (288p) ISBN: 9780062684899

Publication date: March 27, 2018

For fans of Charlamagne Tha God’s Black Privilege, Kevin Hart’s I Can’t Make This Up, and Tiffany Haddish’s, The Last Black Unicorn, comes the must-read memoir from Mike Epps, Unsuccessful Thug. In addition to learning there will be a Meet Read the rest “A Review: Unsuccessful Thug by Mike Epps”

“The Hate U Give” Author Angie Thomas Unveils “On the Come Up” Book Cover!

onthecomeup

Angie Thomas, debut author of the bestselling young adult novel, The Hate U Give, is gearing up for her next release, On the Come Up. The hotly anticipated novel is about 16-year-old Bri, an aspiring rapper (it runs in her family, as her father was an underground rapper on the brink of major success until his death) whose passion for conquering the rap world intensifies once her … Read the rest ““The Hate U Give” Author Angie Thomas Unveils “On the Come Up” Book Cover!”